In January 2012, the Canadian Junior Hockey League announced a new regional playoff format for its four western provinces beginning in the 2012-2013 season.
The champions of the British Columbia Hockey League, Alberta Junior Hockey League, Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League, and Manitoba Junior Hockey League participate in a five-team tournament along with a host for the Western Canada Cup title. The 13-game tournament includes a round-robin schedule followed by two semifinal games and a championship game. The Western Canada Cup Champion and the runner-up will both represent Western Canada at the RBC Cup National Junior A Championship.
The inaugural 2013 Crescent Point Energy Western Canada Cup washosted by the Nanaimo Clippers and the BCHL, followed by the Dauphine Kings (MJHL) in 2014, Fort McMurray Oil Barons (AJHL) in 2015 and most recently the Estevan Bruins (SJHL).
The Surrey Eagles won the inaugural tournament in 2013, with the Yorkton Terriers winning in 2014, the Penticton Vees in 2015 and the West Kelowna Warriors winning in 2016.

In 2017, the Vees will proudly host the best of the West at the South Okanagan Events Centre from April 29th, to May 7th, 2017.

Western Canada Cup Winners:

2013: Surrey Eagles (Runners-Up Brooks Bandits)

2014: Yorkton Terriers (Runners-Up Dauphin Kings)

2015: Penticton Vees (Runners-Up Portage Terriers*) (Third Place Melfort Mustangs)

2016: West Kelowna Warriors (Runners-Up Brooks Bandits)

* In 2015, Portage were RBC Cup hosts as well, resulting in three teams from the West going to the RBC Cup.